AABPA presents the James L. Blum Award to individuals who have distinguished records of accomplishment in public budgeting, are respected leaders in the budgetary community, have significantly advanced the state of knowledge in the field, and by personal example, have set exceptionally high standards of achievement, professionalism, and ethics for all public servants. 


2019 Teri Gullo, CBO; Phil Joyce, U-Maryland

2018 Holly Harvey, Congressional Budget Office

2012 Stan Collender, Qorvis' National Director of Financial Communications

2010  Susan Irving, Government Accountability Office    

2008  Edward Brigham, Transportation

2007  Christine Bonham, Government Accountability Office       

2006  Phyllis Scheinberg, Transportation

2005  Paul Posner, Government Accountability Office     

2003  Robert Sunshine, Congressional Budget Office

2002  Bill Hoagland, Senate Budget Committee

2001  Dennis Williams, Department of Health and Human Services

2000  Dick Emery, Office of Management and Budget

1999  James L. Blum, Congressional Budget Office

Prior to 1999, the award was called the AABPA DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD RECIPIENTS

1998  Gail Del Balzo, Congressional Budget Office

  Barry Anderson, Jefferson Solutions (former Assistant Director for Budget Review, Office of Management and Budget)

1997  Harold Seidman, John Hopkins University

         Emerson Markham, National Academy of Public Administration

1996  Bill Early, Genera Service Administration

         George Strauss, Public Financial Publications President

         Irene Rubin, Editor of Public Budgeting and Finance

1995  Congressman Charles Stenholm

         Marvin Phaup, Congressional Budget Office

         Nick Stoer, Federal Aviation Administration

1994  Robert Reischauer, Congressional Budget Office

1993  Herb Persil, Department of Housing and Urban Development

         Bob Sherman, Department of Agriculture

         Charles Schulze, Brookings Institute

         Keith Mainland, House Appropriations Committee

1992  Alice Rivlin, Brookings Institute

         G. William Hoagland, Senate Budget Committee

         Robert Greenstein, Center for Budget and Policy Priorities

1991  Van Doorn Ooms, Committee for Economic Development

         Naomi Caiden, Editor of Public Budgeting and Finance

         Steve Dewhurst, Department of Agriculture

1990  The Honorable Leon E. Panetta, House Budget Committee                                                

         Aaron Wildavsky, Author

         The Honorable Bill Frenzel, House of Representatives

         The Honorable Charles A. Bowsher, General Accounting Office

1989  Dave Mathiasen, Office of Management and Budget

         Carol Cox, Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget

1988  James L. Blum, Congressional Budget Office

1987  George Strauss, Office of Management and Budget

         Sid Brown, Senate Budget Committee

1986  Harry Havens, General Accounting Office

         The Honorable Rudolph Penner, Congressional Budget Office

1985  Dr. Jesse Burkehead, Public Budgeting and Finance

1984  Senator Pete Domenici

         Carey Modlin, Jr., Office of Management and Budget

         Lawrence Seale, Santa Clara County, California

1983  The Honorable Richard Bolling, U.S. Congress

         Al Kliman, Department of Housing and Urban Development

         John Quetsch, Department of Defense

1982  The Honorable Robert Giaimo, Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget

         Alair Townsend, Office of Management and Budget;

         Dr. Louis Fisher, Library of Congress

1981  Naomi Caiden, Public Budgeting and Finance

         Bruce Meredith, U.S. Congress                                                                                            

         Raymond Long, Department of State

1980  Dr. Joseph Wholey, Department of Health and Human Services

1979  Dale McOmber

         Carolyn Bruce, Information Consultants, Inc.

1978  John D. Young, Department of Energy

1977  Dr. Allen Schick, The Urban Institute